Labor Day Weekend a nice time for White Wedding

No, I am not talking about friends getting married. I’m talking about this weekend signaling the end of summer and wondering where the fun is. Where has the fun gone? Does anyone remember laughter? Let’s rock!

picture courtesy of library.bromley.gov.ukBilly Idol is coming to Rockford as part of the On The Waterfront Festival taking place over Labor Day weekend. Billy plays on Sunday, September 5th. OTW (WARNING! If you click on this link you must find the mute button as fast as possible or turn your speakers off. Otherwise you will be subject to the hideous sounds of Hinder.)

I can honestly say that I haven’t thought of Billy Idol in years.  I did see Billy Idol many many years ago at the U.I.C. pavilion. It was a double bill with The Cult.  This was a great show for that time period. I wonder how Billy Idol is cutting it these days. One thing is for sure his music is fun! I don’t want to turn into the blog for old punkers but that obviously is where my mind has been of late.  After missing The Stooges in what has been described to me as a very over packed and hotter-than-hell Riviera Theater, it sounds pretty refreshing to think of sitting on a lawn in Rockford being treated to all the hits of Billy Idol and did I mention they are playing Generation X songs too! Generation X was Billy’s first band and broke out in ’77 with the other proper punks.

From what I can tell on the Billy Idol site, Steve Stevens is still playing guitar with Billy and is one of the very underrated guitar heroes still touring.  Also on Guitar is Billy Morrison who also played for the aforementioned The Cult.

Since you are reading my blog you must enjoy reading really cool music blogs. Try going over to Billy Morrison’s blog , the most recent entry is really thought-provoking. What does a day off mean to you? Check out Morrison’s deep thoughts on this and many others. I have just added a new bookmark for myself.

This is a current set list from the current Billy Idol line up on August 21st, 2010 from setlist.fm.

I can honestly say that I don’t know that much about Rockford, IL.  Most of the time my concert going experiences are in the city of Chicago. The only show I remember seeing in Rockford in all my years of concert going was INXS with one of the greatest frontmen of all time, Michael Hutchence.  They played at the Coronado Theatre in Rockford back in the day.  Maybe it is time for another trip to the city that brought us one of the best American bands, Cheap Trick (from Rockford), to see another great frontman, Billy Idol.

Are you going to see the British Idol in Rockford? Any better ideas for fun over Labor Day weekend?

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

