Jake Bugg is Brilliant…and coming back to Chicago

My album of the last year has been Jake Bugg and he already has another one ready to go. That is so cool. A young man of 19 has a number one album in the UK with his first release and just doesn’t sit around collecting checks and chicks but gets back to work on another in the same year.

NEW ALBUM SHANGRI LA OUT NOVEMBER 18th

I just really can’t say enough about this young man. His lyrics are so well written and worth reading. His voice will touch your soul and the guitar playing keeps you paying attention all the way through. He has hooked up with super-producer Rick Rubin and I just hope that he doesn’t tarnish anything.

The great thing about Jake Bugg is you don’t have to change anything. There is no room for improvement. What comes out is brilliant and you just have to catch it onto tape. This is where the addition of a super-producer can run you down the wrong alleys. Producers who think they have to put their stamp on something. Mark their territory if you will. Well what’s done is done and I think Jake is smart enough to not let that happen. He makes wise decisions because he is wise. Wise beyond his years.

Most of his songs are very delicate and it will be interesting to see how they hold up in front of a Chicago crowd drunk on loudmouth soup. Again he is very mature at 19 and I believe he will be up to this challenge. I know one thing for sure is that I will be there to witness it. And if anyone within kicking distance is caught being loud they will get a Spool Going Round boot to the back of the head.

Jake came through for Lollapalooza this year and shortly after that to the Metro. His first show in town was a free one, that’s right, I know, I missed it too. He played a small room for free while coming through as the opener on the Noel Gallagher/Snow Patrol tour. Now he will be returning to Chicago in 2014 at The Riviera.

We all look at the goofballs of today’s top 40 and shake our heads wondering where all the good music and songwriters have gone. It is with young artists like Jake Bugg where you find that beautiful core is still alive and strikingly good. Please join me in celebrating this stunningly creative reflection on youth and young manhood.

JAKE BUGG 2014 USA

01/08/14 The Electric Factory Philadelphia, PA
01/11/14 House of Blues Boston Boston, MA
01/12/14 Metropolis Montreal, GC
01/14/14 Sound Academy Toronto, ON
01/15/14 Royal Oak Music Theatre Royal Oak, MI
01/17/14 First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
01/18/14 Riviera Theatre Chicago, IL
01/20/14 Paramount Theatre Seattle, WA
01/22/14 Crystal Ballroom Portland, OR
01/23/14 Fox Theater Oakland, CA
01/24/14 The Wiltern Los Angeles, CA
01/28/14 House of Blues Dallas Dallas, TX
01/29/14 House of Blues Houston Houston, TX
01/30/14 Civic Theatre New Orleans, LA
02/01/14 Ryman Auditorium Nashville, TN

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

