The Best Music in Movie Moments at #5

Counting down the Best Music in Movie Moments.  This is the point were the music-lover came out in the movie director or music supervisor (what a cool job.) They thought back
to a song that they like and knew it would fit perfectly in their movie.

In this countdown, from 10 to 1, we will only look at songs that were
already on an artists album prior to the movie. These are songs that
were not created for the movie specifically but were used righteously.
This is the point where the music-lover came out in the movie director.
They thought back to a song that they liked and knew it would fit
perfectly in their movie. I’m not a movie critic. These are films that I enjoy watching and have great songs in them.

I had the opportunity to meet John Cusack back in the day.  I was at a Wendy & Lisa concert (that’s right) as a fan.  John was at the same Wendy & Lisa show at the Park West but he was there because he was dating Wendy’s twin sister.  The same Wendy’s twin sister that Prince was engaged to and wrote songs about.  John was there with the whole Cusack family and he was very nice and we spoke about the band.

John being from Chicago may help with his likability but it is not the be all. I have liked all the roles he has played.  Say Anything helped solidify his roles as a male lead in the romantic films.  You could really feel the teen lust he had in the role as Lloyd Dobler. And the despair when it doesn’t go as planned. He also had great taste in music and band t-shirts. Lloyd couldn’t find the words to express himself but he could find the right mixtape.  I would like to thank all the artists that help us find our words. That’s why I always carry my boombox with me.

Cameron Crowe wrote the words for Say Anything and he sure has good musical taste. The “boombox scene” is such an iconic scene that it is much easier to find couples that have recreated the movie scene themselves, or puppet versions of the scene, than it is to view the actual copywritten scene from the movie itself.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage with Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

