The Best Music in Movie Moments at #4

Spool Going Round continues to look at 10 Best Music in Movie Moments .
I remember back to when I first heard of the pairing of Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova.  I knew that Glen’s band The Frames were pretty well respected in Ireland. Glen was also the guitar player in another fine music-filled movie called The Commitments. What is it about Irish musicians that allows them to have so much soul? I found the “Falling Slowly” video online and I watched it over and over again because I was mesmerized by it. The power of making music between two or more people with real instruments is something DJ’s, bloggers, and critics, will never possess. After watching the song over and over again. I went and saw the movie.  You can have the same experience.

The video and to a greater extent the movie shows the first time they sit down to play together. He has a song idea with lyrics but would like her accompaniment. You want her to know you’re interested but don’t seem too desperate. For Pete’s sake don’t ask her to spend the night already. See the movie and then you will be powerless as to purchase the soundtrack. They both make a nice Christmas gift. For those of you with a lot of extra cash, buy you and your loved one instruments for the holiday and start making beautiful music together.*** Lessons may be required***

“Falling Slowly” from the movie ONCE. It turned out pretty well for the two of them professionally.   Most times music outlasts relationships though.

Once

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

