The Greatest Record Going Round in 2013

What could be construed as a Top 10 list of this year.  If this was actually a Top 10 list, this would probably be #1 on the list.  If it was this sort of list.

Arctic Monkeys have finally delivered their female back-up singer album.  Those beautiful high pitched harmonies that could only come from…wait, that’s the drummer singing.  WTF?  This album is incredible and Arctic Monkeys continue to morph into so many cool things you just have to succumb to their powers and let them lead you.   I am mesmerized and enamored with this band. They have sounded like a better modern version of the Strokes, Black Sabbath, and Hall & Oates in a short period of time.  Arctic Monkeys is a band that keeps music interesting in 2013 to an old ska/new wave/soul/metal/punk like myself.

They pulled me in right away with their Myspace brilliance years back.  It was chip shop rock and I wanted a double order.  Here we are still talking about the new Monkeys and they now hit us with a OOH LA LA LA OOH. I was lucky enough to catch their first trip to the US when they stopped at the Metro here in Chicago.  I have seen them several times since and just like with every album they grow and so does their live show.

Many bands choose to go with the self titled album for the rebirth.  Arctic Monkeys went with AM.  They are a band that does not stay with the template that got them millions of fans to begin with.  No, this is a band that has fans that must like all types of music.  The new album AM introduces a soul that we really had not been privy to previously.  If you thought you looked good on the dance floor before wait to you see yourself now.  AM is killer from beginning to end.   Outside of the new groove is a connection with the underground.  Velvet Underground.   Velvet Underground VU = Arctic Monkeys AM.  Doubt it? Then check out “Mad Sounds,” Alex Turner does a nice hip swaying Lou Reed.

Josh Homme doing some soulful back up on “Knee Socks.”

My current favorite is “Fireside”

If you need to declare an album of the year.

Press play and this is all you need to hear.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage with Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

