The Best Music in Movie Moments at #1

Movies would be a sight for sore eyes if not for music. It is the music that gives you goose bumps or makes your tear ducts fill with salty discharge…No, I’m not crying, I have something in my eye.  Sure acting is a nice little hobby.  We all know the “character” you play is really really similar to the “person” you are.  The star here is the musician that grabs your true emotions.  They make you experience feelings that you may not have know possible before. Most of the time this is done with soundtrack music. A musician will layer sounds and lyrics that meet swimmingly with how a character and audience will speak and feel.

In this countdown, from 10 to 1, we will only look at songs that were
already on an artists album prior to the movie. These are songs that
were not created for the movie specifically but were used righteously.
This is the point where the music-lover came out in the movie director.
They thought back to a song that they liked and knew it would fit
perfectly in their movie. I’m not a movie critic. These are films that I enjoy watching and have great songs in them.

We made it to #1!! Okay, so I think Sofia Coppola is brilliant at featuring the Best Music in Movie Moments. Her film Marie Antoinette was my #2 in this countdown and her film Lost in Translation  is also my #1.

Something I have known since Cheap Trick took it to Budokan in ’78, is that Japan ROCKS!  Lost in Translation is a movie filmed in and around Tokyo. It is very well shot movie that visually captures the stunningly beauty of this area. Of course, I love large cities. It’s a major city and filled with lots of moving images both human and digital. Sometimes you have to get lost in a crowd, in a country where everything is foreign, to find yourself.

Bill Murray is a favorite actor of mine. I mean really, does anyone not like Bill Murray? He is perfect in this role as Bob Harris. Scarlett Johansson is also a good-get in the casting as Charlotte. Scarlett’s character, Charlotte, shares that loneliness and alienation felt by Marie Antoinette in her movie. Sofia Coppola is very talented at capturing this on film. Bill and Scarlett make the characters in the movie work. They even sometimes help me through my own middle-life crisis. Just like my own midlife crisis there is a lot of humor, some alienation and culture shock, and a lot of great music. The music goes incredibly well with the spectacular visuals. There is exciting music throughout but the separation scene comes at the end, this is when we hear the distorted guitar tones of Jesus and Mary Chain.  We knew the trip had to come to an end at some point. Life isn’t always the vacation we thought we had booked. The scene is perfect with Bob and Charlotte embracing for a final goodbye. The music takes over where words could have been spoken but a genius decided to go without and instead play a cool tune. I don’t know what he whispers in her ear.  It wasn’t meant to be heard for a reason. I don’t want to know.  It’s better that way.

At #1 is “Just Like Honey” by Jesus and Mary Chain included in the film Lost in Translation. 

Do you have some favorite Music in Movie Moments? I would love to know.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

