New Music Tuesday – Royal Bangs

BRASS OUT NOW ON MODERN ART RECORDS, PRODUCED BY THE BLACK KEYS’ PATRICK CARNEY

The Knoxville, Tennessee quartet Royal Bangs is set to embark on a nationwide headline tour accompanied by fellow indie band Bad Suns.  The upcoming tour is in support of their celebrated new LP Brass and follows a successful fall run in support of Crocodiles and Geographer.

Produced by The Black Keys’ Patrick CarneyBrass is the group’s fourth full-length release and was recorded at Haptown Studios in Nashville during May 2012. Of working with the band, Carney comments, “I was really excited to get to produce a Royal Bangs album. I discovered them about six years ago and became so obsessed that I released their first two albums on my label, Audio Eagle, but this is the first chance I’ve had to actually help them make an album. They are one of those bands that just keep getting better and better and I couldn’t be more proud to have been involved with this album and band.”

Patrick Carney is a drummer and this band has an incredible drummer.  Check out the drums live on Letterman.

Royal Bangs is Ryan Schaefer (singer, multi-instrumentalist), Chris Rusk (drums), Sam Stratton (guitar), and Dylan Dawkins (bass).

ROYAL BANGS TOUR DATES

January 09 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links

January 10 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s

January 11 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk

January 12 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa

January 13 – Birmingham, AL @ Bottletree

January 14 – Atlanta, GA @ The Basement

January 15 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt

January 16 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern

January 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Milkboy

January 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade

January 20 – Boston, MA @ Middle East

January 22 – Burlington, VT @ ArtsRiot

January 23 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison

January 24 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

January 25 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.