The Orwells doing very well

Chicago band The Orwells have been doing very well for themselves lately. They are making all the right moves for a new band trying to take over the world. I’ve been listening and following this band for a little while now and everything just seems to keep growing and going for these young rockers.

First they started by giving away their EP in return for your email address.  I gladly gave them mine.  New bands pay attention this is smart.   They were able to get Dave Sitek (TV on the Radio, Beady Eye) to produce their rock.  Then got BBC DJ Zane Lowe interested and started a Strokes-like buzz over in the U.K., which now has landed them an opening slot for Arctic Monkeys (Arctic Monkeys released the best album of 2013).  They hired a female friend to take off all her clothes in their new video for “Dirty Sheets.” Sex sells…duh.   Finally, this evening they will be featured alongside The Killers, Boy George, and more on Later… with Jools Holland on The Palladia Channel.

If you do not have Palladia Channel this would be a good time to call your cable provider and ask how it is possible to have 250 channels worth of crap. You pay for  250 channels but some nerd chooses them for you. Why is it that you pay for commercials and channels in Spanish when you do not speak Spanish?   How is it that you are paying for the Golf Channel when you know GOLF SUCKS!  If you don’t have Palladia just throw the TV out the window.   You’re probably getting a new one for Christmas anyway.

Don’t forget where you came from.  Come home and play for us soon.  From Elmhurst, Illinois , it’s The Orwells…

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.