Live Screaming Females

Screaming Females are a band that I have loved for quite some time. I think everything about them is perfect. Band Name, Guitar Playing, Punk attitude, Songs, Live show, PERFECT! I have been looking forward to their Chicago shows for a while and now it’s been announced that these shows will be recorded by Steve Albini for a live album.

The album will be released April 8th on Don Giovanni Records.

I had the great fortune of interviewing Screaming Females on my other blog.   Here is an excerpt:

Spool Going Round:
The first time I heard of Screaming Females, it was on the BrooklynVegan Blog. Do you think blogs have helped get your music out to a larger audience?

Jarrett:
I think it is really awesome when anyone, anywhere, who takes the time to write about and discuss our band.  It is humbling to think of all the people who have taken the time to care about what we do.  So in that way blogs have definitely been a huge help to us.  But I think people have a tendency to overestimate the importance of the internet.  For every person who has found out about us via the internet and bought a record or come to a show I feel like there are 5 or 10 people that found out about us from seeing us play live or from people talking about us or playing the records for their friends.  The real world definitely still exists.

Spool Going Round:
You have also been touring like crazy. The first time I saw you play live was opening up for Arctic Monkeys here in Chicago at the Riviera Theater. How did that tour come about? Did you enjoy touring with them?

Jarrett:
They saw us open up for the Dead Weather and asked us to tour with them.  Alison from Dead Weather told them that they had to make it out to the show early to see us play.  That is pretty much the whole story.  Like I just said (in the question above) most people find out about our band from seeing us play live or hearing about it from their friends.
Touring with them was definitely cool.  It allowed us to play to a whole new audience.  I think that their audience was a little confused by us.  Arctic Monkeys have a very polished sound whereas we kind of go out there and let loose.

Spool Going Round:
I thought you were great and you definitely got the energy of the crowd up for the headliner. Are you physically drained after a show?

Jarrett:
Most of the time.  If sweat isn’t running into my eyes or I’m not completely soaked with sweat after we play than it feels like something went wrong.

To read the rest of the interview click here

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

