Top 10 list of live performances on The David Letterman Show #7

Today we find ourselves at #7 counting down from 10 to 1 with live performances from David Letterman’s late night career. I hope you’re enjoying the ride.  So far, all the performances we have looked at were inside the studio. Starting out in the old days at NBC and then in recent years when he moved to CBS and booked the Ed Sullivan Theater for bands to play. The Ed Sullivan Theater sure has its history and that is a big draw for many bands but once in a while bands had to move their performance outside the studio.  We have watched performances in the alley, on 53rd street, on the roof, and Sir Paul McCartney returned to the Ed Sullivan Theater to play on top of the marquee.

This is where I thought I would find some great performances. They needed to move them out of the theater because they were such big names and storied performers. Paul McCartney didn’t amaze baby.  I’m not afraid to say Eminem’s performance was a little weak. So for pure strength and sheer audacity you have to see the following video of Rage Against The Machine brutalizing the crowd with “Guerrilla Radio.”  If you have a pacemaker this is probably restricted viewing for you.

I am not the biggest Rage Against The Machine fan.  I do like Tom Morello’s guitar playing and the fact that he is a Cubs fan. Tom also adds great guitar to the new Bruce Springsteen release.  I however wouldn’t choose to sit and listen to RATM’s music for pleasure BUT if I’m using my nationally televised performance to start a REVOLUTION! Then this is my music.

At #7 I give you “Guerrilla Radio” performed outside the Ed Sullivan Theater on 53rd street by Rage Against The Machine in the pouring rain.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 10 list of live performances on The David Letterman Show #7

  1. Pingback: Top 10 David Letterman Show Live Performances | Spool Going Round

Leave a Reply

