New Brody Dalle

Brody Dalle is back with new music.  Listen to “Meet The Feotus / Oh the Joy”

The first offering is titled, Meet The Foetus/ Oh The Joy and it’s the ambitious, triumphant centerpiece of the forthcoming album. It’s a song about creating life and was responsible for kicking the whole album process off again for Brody. And if you listen carefully you can hear, good friend Shirley Manson (Garbage) and Emily Kowal (Warpaint) on backing vocals.

Brody Dalle spent a year writing, playing, recording and co-producing her first solo album, a riotous blast of punk rock with a pop sheen that storms through ideas about the modern age, triumphing against the odds and even spirituality. She co-produced everything with Alain Johannes (Arctic Monkeys, Them Crooked Vultures, Mark Lanegan) at his 11AD studio, and at her and husband Josh Homme’s studio Pink Duck, both in California. “I’ve always had a hand in crafting how it’s going to sound and hearing it and trying to make that happen. But it’s the first time I’ve put my name on something for production”, she says of the release. Amazingly, she wrote all the songs and played over most of the instruments you can hear on the album, save for a few special guests.

Brody has had a long, wild career in music. “It’s the only job I’ve ever had and I love it.” In her native Australia, her first band, Sourpuss, got her signed at 15; she later moved to LA and formed The Distillers, becoming pack leader of a band of hardcore reprobates, and spending her 20s touring the world. After that, she released a killer album rife with hooks under Spinnerette and now she returns in fighting form under her own name with her own solo project.

She will also be touring in Australia in March supporting Queens Of The Stone Age and Nine Inch Nails. Stay tuned for more details very soon…

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

