We Can All Vibrate Together

Once in a while you see a concert posting and can’t really believe it. So happened to me yesterday while seeing The Vibrators are coming to town. First you think, no it can’t be, The Vibrators, like The Vibrators from ’76 that I play on punk nights out. The Vibrators who sang “We Vibrate” which is classic. And not only is it that band but after opening for bands such as the Sex Pistols and Iggy Pop & David Bowie, they aren’t playing our stadiums or large amphitheaters. They are playing a bar in Lombard and a DIIVE bar in the city by the “L” tracks. This will surely be one for the record books.

After touring Spain, Austraila, and Canada, they hit a couple seedy bars in Chicagoland and back to the UK.  You do not want to miss this.

With a career lasting thirty-three years, vocalist/guitarist IAN “KNOX” CARNOCHAN, bassist PAT COLLIER, guitarist JOHN ELLIS and drummer EDDIE originally formed the VIBRATORS in February 1976, and their first gig was supporting THE STRANGLERS at Hornsey Art College in North London. They supported THE SEX PISTOLS at the 100 CLUB and were one of the bands playing at the now legendary 100 CLUB PUNK ROCK FESTIVAL.

Brauerhouse -Lombard on September 26th tickets

Red Line Tap -Chicago on September 27th tickets

 

Early in 1977 the band supported IGGY POP (with DAVID BOWIE on keyboards) on a UK tour, then moved to EPIC RECORDS and released the classic “BABY BABY” single, followed by their first album “PURE MANIA” which spent five weeks in the UK Top 75, peaking at number 49.

 

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

