Spool Going Round Saving Songs From Extinction Mix

savingmusic

I am looking at songs that maybe never were played on the radio or songs that were and then stopped.  If I don’t add new life to these songs they may become extinct. We may never hear of them again.  I must use my (limited) power to save these songs.  I look forward to your help in this very important crusade.

  1. LifeBlood by That Petrol Emotion

My 2nd import record.  I will always remember it. (1st was The Smiths- Hatful of Hollow) this is really a super group.  Look at the line up find the album. Research/internet-search it.

  1. Sister Isabel by Frank Black and Teenage Fanclub

From a John Peel Session (huge influence on this DJ) “she’s changing her name from Lola to Sister Isabel.”

3.  I Found That Essence Rare by Gang of Four

It is rare when you can find it, if you can hold on to it.

4.  Pale Blue Eyes by Paul Quinn & Edwyn Collins

I love Lou Reed.  He was an incredible writer. He wasn’t the greatest vocalist but he had his style.  Always interesting to hear other singers interpret or copy.

5.  The Hardest Walk by The Jesus and Mary Chain

Great track from that 1st album.  Dream come true seeing them at Riot Fest a couple years back.

6.  Blank Generation by Richard Hell & the Voidoids

Punk anthem that is so punk it doesn’t get played

7.  Weirdo by The Charlatans UK

Greatest opening line ever in a song “Most of the time you are happy…you’re a Weirdo”

8.  Helpline Operator by The The

Matt Johnson creativity mixed creatively by Sick Boy

9.  Faded Flowers by Shriekback

Another supergroup with what should have been a superhit.

10.  ….what would you play next?

 

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment