Daniel Lanois (what has the greatest ears been up to?)

Daniel Lanois is still raising that spirit of music and still opening up doors to the unknown.

FLESH AND MACHINE

The cover art to Flesh And Machine – the new album by gifted musician, renowned producer and ambient pioneer Daniel Lanois – contains a curious image: a baby with cybernetic antennae. The child represents Lanois himself. He explains: “The cover shows a boy who is looking for something that’s never been heard before. He’s my little seeker, he represents the bit of me that’s always in the laboratory experimenting, looking for new sounds and sensations.”

But the image is apt in another way. Flesh And Machine, his third album for ANTI–, represents nothing short of a total artistic rebirth. Lanois has been involved in playing, recording and producing music for four decades now. In that time he helped push the ambient genre forward into celestial new territory as Brian Eno’s foremost protégé; he has recorded landmark albums for U2 and Peter Gabriel and has helped to revitalize the sonic dimensions of Bob Dylan and Neil Young. But this marks the first time he has truly deployed every sonic weapon in his arsenal and attempted to break virgin ground in support of his own music.

Lanois has a refreshingly optimistic attitude toward his craft and the creative potential it still holds: “I’m always heading for the future and I’m always hoping I’m going to find the next dimension of sound. It’s my job to raise the spirit of sound. I’ve been able to do it a number of times in the past on other people’s records. Well, it’s still my job today to raise that spirit of sound and I’d like to think that I’ve done it on this record.”

NOVEMBER US TOUR

13 – Nashville, Tennessee – City Winery – Venue

14 – Chicago, Illinois – Lincoln HallVenue

16 – Los Angeles, California – El Rey Theatre – Venue

17 – San Francisco, California – Great American Music Hall – Venue

19 – Washington, District of Columbia – The Hamilton – Venue

20 – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania – World Cafe Live – Venue

21 – Providence, Rhode Island – Columbus Theatre – Venue

22 – Boston, Massachusetts – Brighton Music Hall – Venue

Here is Daniel Lanois classic “Lotta Love To Give”

FLESH AND MACHINE PRE-ORDER Released OCTOBER 28TH

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Concerts, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment