There is NO Joy Division or New Order without Hooky

Peter Hook is one of the best bassist of all time.  He plays the bass like a lead guitar. His bass playing in Joy Division and New Order, as well as many side projects, are simply brilliant.

Peter Hook is currently touring 2 classic New Order releases. Brotherhood is an alright album but LOW LIFE is one of my favorite albums of all time.  Throw in an opening set of Joy Division tunes and you have a great night of entertainment.

 

Just read the book Hooky wrote titled UNKNOWN PLEASURES *Inside Joy Division*.  This is an incredible read for fans of Joy Division.  The writing is witty and puts you there in every day from birth to death of a very important band.  Also remindes you of how a small Irish band starting out was so influenced by Joy Division and their recordings.  That little Irish band would go on to be the biggest band in the world, U2. Makes you wonder where Joy Division were heading.

Peter Hook and the Light are in North America at the moment.  Please catch them if you are within travel distance.

Nov 10: Montreal, QC – Theatre Tellus

Nov 11: Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall

Nov 13: Ferndale, MI – The Magic Bag

Nov 14: Chicago, IL – Metro

Nov 15: Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line Music Cafe,

Nov 17: Vancouver, BC – Venue

Nov 18: Seattle, WA – Nuemos,

Nov 20: Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom

Nov 21: San Francisco, CA – Mezzanine

Nov 22: Los Angeles, CA – Henry Fonda Theatre

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

