Seattle band Wimps are playing to their Strengths (and you can too!)

Seattle is quietly putting out many good bands.  This has been the case for years.  I think we would rather have it this way than to take over the nation with a silly named new music scene.

Wimps are from Seattle and I loved them from the second I heard them.    I have mentioned being and “old punk” several hundred times (reference? read all my posts).  This music appeals to that part of me that will never leave.  Another thing about punk music is that it inspires people, like myself, to pick up an instrument and possibly start another band.  That is what punk did and that is how a music scene is built too.  The lyrics are not over-thought.  You don’t have to be Yngwie Malmsteen (spelling: ASSHOLE) to crush these chords.  YOU CAN DO THIS, and imagine how fun it will be.  In fact, a band like Wimps might be needed now in 2015 more than ever.   The music scene is really in need of more good bands and Wimps have the music to inspire them.

A song like “Vampire” instantly grabs you in.  Thinking along the lines of the horror movie Candy man, you can imagine how singing along to Vampire and repeating the word more than 3 times in a row would turn those involved into Vampires.  Perfect for your Halloween preparations.

PREORDER NOW Wimps “Suitcase” will be released by Kill Rock Stars on November 13th.  How can you beat that price for Cassette and Download Code?

Wimps are scene veterans Rachel Ratner (Butts) on guitar and lead vocals, Matt Nyce (Meth Teeth) on bass and backing vocals, and Dave Ramm (The Intelligence) on drums. Wimps serve their own brand of rapid-fire punk with a smattering of lo-fi post punk guitar work to create an angular, slightly off-kilter blast. Ratner lyrically twists otherwise common day-to-day woes into relatable tales of struggle shout-sung call and response stabs that champion boredom, laziness and social anxieties with wiry riffs and punchy bass lines, propelled by the measured rhythms of drummer David Ramm.

After gaining local momentum from a self released demo, the band signed with End of Time Records and issued their first LP ‘Repeat’ in 2013. They toured nationwide supporting the album, receiving coverage on This American Life, Pitchfork, SPIN and KEXP. Following their return, they released a 7 inch on micro label Help Yourself Records and a series of self released tapes before releasing a cassette on Kill Rock Stars.

Wimps preparing for the never-ending couch tour.  Please let them crash at your pad.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

