It’s a Different Kind of Demo for Paul Weller

Paul Weller has a new video for his song Pick it up. It is a different kind of demo for a musician. Demo in music terms usually means a “demonstration” of the artist’s song. In this video starring the lovely Martin Freeman, he gets heavily involved in “demolition.”

Paul Weller’s album Saturns Pattern will easily make my top 10 list this year. I also caught Paul live in Seattle a month ago and that was killer. Paul pulled out many Jam songs and even awesome treats from The Style Council years, as well as his wonderful solo songs. But bravest of all was that Paul played almost his whole new album. For a guy 40 years into one of the most amazing careers ever, just incredible.   It took me over 30 years to finally be in the right place at the right time when Paul visited America and it was well worth the wait.

I don’t think there is any other artist in history that has the resume that Paul has and with so many different genres.  He is a living legend.

Check out the new video for “Pick it up” and below that the setlist from Paul’s show I caught in Seattle.

As I mention on Setlist.fm, Paul also played “Paper Chase” but I couldn’t remember the exact point in the set so I guess it will be forever forgotten. No it will never be forgotten but the correct setlist may never show up.   Also the band dedicated “You do Something to Me” to Lynval Golding who is also a legend and was in attendance. Lynval lives in the Seattle area.

 

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a Different Kind of Demo for Paul Weller

  1. Pingback: Spool Going Round’s Favorite 11 Albums from 2015 | Spool Going Round

Leave a Reply

