New Music from Gabriel Collins (if you like Peter Gabriel and Phil Collins, no seriously)

 

Born in London in 1983, Gabriel Collins had a habit of tapping on any available surface, this continued until his parents bought him a drum kit and he taught himself to play it, as well as seesawing in and out of love with the guitar, but he says his musical life really began with the piano…

Money was tight so piano lessons were out of the question, but when Gabriel was eleven, after the family had moved to Devon, they inherited a piano from a great aunt and under the guidance of teacher Colin Rea, Gabriel flourished. It was Rea who inspired in Gabriel an appreciation of many styles of music as well as instilling in him the skills of improvisation, composition and learning to listen and practice effectively. This grounding led to mentoring sessions in songwriting with keyboard maestro and composer Julian Marshall, of Marshall Hain/Flying Lizards/Eye To Eye fame who helped Gabriel to gain further insight and confidence in songwriting and performance, describing him as “a unique and remarkable voice in popular music songwriting”.

After leaving school Gabriel took courses in acting, dance, singing, popular music and jazz before going on to read BA (Hons) Music Composition at Dartington College of Arts.

Following university Gabriel continued to write music while also gaining experience in recording and performing both solo and in a range of bands such as Donna Blitz, Melonbud, Berry Pomeroy, Moscow Magazine, Disney’s Head and currently the Gabriel Collins Band.

 

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

