U2 Come to look for America in 2017 US Opener

U2 Come to look for America in 2017 US Opener

Mr. and Mrs. Spool Going Round await U2’s arrival at CenturyLink Field in Seattle

Last night at CenturyLink field in Seattle I saw the best performance of the Joshua Tree, which came out 30 years ago.  I saw 3 shows on the original Joshua Tree tour in 1987 and every one was amazing.  It is why I am still a fan and why I would purchase tickets to see this in 2017. This would be my 9th U2 concert, a journey that started back with the Unforgettable Fire tour.  It’s amazing how easy of a sell this replay of the Joshua Tree album would be, with 70,000 tickets selling out within a day.  The band of the 1987 tour was young and naive.  They were still trying to figure out why a country so far away was so enthralled with their little band from Dublin.   This is what made them so endearing to their fans.  We were witnessing a band growing from clubs to amphitheaters at rapid pace.  Tonight they would bring back that word that I always used to describe them as I tried to convert non-believers, “Intensity!”

On Sunday night in Seattle, they were intense and they were confident.  Once again this band from Ireland was teaching us Americans about our own country.  What is great and what needs a fixin’.   Bono showed his love of America and that brought to light the ideals that we sometimes forget.  Intertwining Paul Simon’s “America” with lines like “I’ve gone to look for America” throughout the show.   Reciting lines from “The New Colossus” by Emma Lazarus “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,” now that is a country you can get behind.

I loved that the show started out on the small stage in chronological order with 2 songs from the War album and then 3 songs from the Unforgettable Fire.   Then as the intro music played for “Where the Streets have No name” the band rose up to the larger Joshua Tree stage which would bring to life the largest, most clear, video screen these eyes have ever seen.

Thanks to youtuber @U2 for this video of “BAD” from 5/14/17 Seattle. Bono reminding us “that whatever it is, let it go.”

Setlist 5/14/2017

Pre-Joshua Tree set

Sunday Bloody Sunday

New Year’s Day

A Sort of Homecoming

Bad

Pride

 Joshua Tree Start

Where The Streets Have No Name

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

With or Without You

Bullet the Blue Sky

Running to Stand Still

Red Hill Mining Town

In God’s Country

Trip Through Your Wires

One Tree Hill

Exit

Mothers of the Disappeared (with Eddie Vedder and Mumford & Sons)

Joshua Tree End

Post Joshua Tree Set

Beautiful Day

Elevation

Ultraviolet (light my way)

One

 Miss Sarajevo

The Little Things That Give You Away (new song)

 I Will Follow

Sounding better than ever and bringing the stunning visuals to back it up, this was the best performance of The Joshua Tree live.   If I can be a critic and point out one small disappointment, it would be waiting 30 years to hear my favorite Joshua Tree song “Red Hill Mining Town” and it being a reworked subpar version.  With Edge on piano instead of guitar this was a letdown, especially given the promise of playing all the songs from this album and this being the first time ever played live.  Where they were so true to the other songs this fell short of what could have been a wonderful song event.

I was so thrilled that U2 decided to play the album from start to finish, in its entirety.  This was a wise decision.   The songs added to the front and back of the album-set on this night were also perfectly chosen.

Bono, a recent woman of the year winner, also brought to light the wonderful women who have changed the world for the better.  The focus is usually put on the men in power but we all know there is no good man without a great woman next to them (see photo above.) Bill Gates may have made huge profits but it is Melinda who is choosing to change the world with these profits, both were in attendance this night.

As I, and many others, come to grips with our country in 2017, this little band from Dublin once again helped us see what makes America great and what is worth fighting for.

Thank you to Bono, Edge, Larry, and Adam.

Photo by Tim Durkan from the Seattle Times

 

Mike @ Spool Going Round

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

