You can’t overstate Thrill Kill Kult’s influence on My Life

tkk

They are celebrating 30 years together by playing two seminal albums on tour.  “Confessions of a Knife” and “I See Good Spirits and I see Bad Spirits.” I used to buy my import records from Groovy Man at Wax Trax records in Chicago.  He was working at the record store during the day and fronting a new band at night  He would ring me up and send me on my way with a new load of awesome vinyl.

The first time I saw My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult was in an upstairs bedroom at someone’s house.  Ah how they’ve grown.

Don’t miss TKK-XXX

In celebration of 30 years together, “America’s Most Dangerous Kult” will hit the road this fall for the 30th Anniversary Show; a 25 city North American tour commencing October 5th at Club Red in Mesa, AZ. Joining founding members Groovie Mann (vocals) and Buzz McCoy (keys, production) will be veteran performer Mimi Star on bass,”Bomb Gang Girl” Arena Rock (vocals) and drummer Bradley Bills from the Austin band CHANT.

To commemorate this milestone, the band will turn back time and perform their first two iconic albums on Wax Trax! Records – “I See Good Spirits And I See Bad Spirits” (1988) and “Confessions Of A Knife” (1990), as well as other TKK favs!

THU OCT 05 – MESA, AZ
FRI OCT 06 – TUCSON, AZ
SAT OCT 07 – EL PASO, TX
TUE OCT 10 – OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
WED OCT 11 – DALLAS, TX
THU OCT 12 – SAN ANTONIO, TX
FRI OCT 13 – AUSTIN, TX
SAT OCT 14 – HOUSTON, TX
SUN OCT 15 – NEW ORLEANS, LA
TUE OCT 17 – ST LOUIS, MO
WED OCT 18 – COLUMBUS, OH
THU OCT 19 – FLINT, MI
FRI OCT 20 – CHICAGO, IL
SAT OCT 21 – ST PAUL, MN
MON OCT 23 – LINCOLN, NE
TUE OCT 24 – DENVER, CO
FRI OCT 27 – SEATTLE, WA
SAT OCT 28 – PORTLAND, OR
MON OCT 30 – SAN JOSE, CA
TUE OCT 31 – SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THU NOV 02 – LAS VEGAS, NV
FRI NOV 03 – CORONA, CA
SAT NOV 04 – LOS ANGELES, CA
SUN NOV 05 – SAN DIEGO, CA

Word has it that Buzz and Groovie have been busy working on a new TKK album at StarLust Studios in Los Angeles.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

