Death is your best option for New Year’s Eve

We are very fortunate to live in Chicago. There is always several great options for New Year’s Eve and this year is no exception.

Dec31_Death_Poster_WEB

Death had just come on my radar and the same is true for most.   This past year they revealed a documentary on the birth of Death.  An original punk band out of Detroit in the early 70’s even before other better know punk acts.  They didn’t get the recognition that they deserved at the time which sounds all too similar to the story of the blues.  Much like so many blues artists these musicians have made a comeback.  A younger generation seeking out great music have come across these recordings and the band is now back on the road.

Before there was Punk there was a band called Death

I have not seen the movie yet but I would highly recommend it from reviews that I have read and it will be the perfect pre-show to this year’s best Chicago New Year’s Eve show.  Tickets are on sale now for Death at Reggies Chicago on 12/31/13.

I am ready to put a Death to 2013, how about you?

DEATH  Established in Detroit in 1974. Death is one of Rock-N-Roll’s most unique and inspiring bands.  Three brothers who played some of the hardest-driving Rock-N-Roll and recorded a now classic album in 1975. Rejected for their sound, their name, and their color, 34 years later the band Death began receiving what is now world-wide recognition for the Rock-N-Roll music they created in Detroit throughout the seventies. Their music and message is universal, and the sound of Death is unique and tight! The new Death album tracks have just been completed for an exciting array of new Death music to be presented in the upcoming 2013/14 season.DEATH  Established in Detroit in 1974. Death is one of Rock-N-Roll’s most unique and inspiring bands.  Three brothers who played some of the hardest-driving Rock-N-Roll and recorded a now classic album in 1975. Rejected for their sound, their name, and their color, 34 years later the band Death began receiving what is now world-wide recognition for the Rock-N-Roll music they created in Detroit throughout the seventies. Their music and message is universal, and the sound of Death is unique and tight! The new Death album tracks have just been completed for an exciting array of new Death music to be presented in the upcoming 2013/14 season. Watch the movie. 

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Death is your best option for New Year’s Eve

  1. Pingback: New Tricks for Old Dogs: A band called The Student Teachers | Spool Going Round

Leave a comment