Spool Going Round Favorite Albums of 2014 (10-6)

10               Jimi Goodwin- Odulek

Jimi-Goodwin-packshot

Jimi on Odludek:

“I wanted to make this mad mixtape… the kind you’d pass back and forth with your mates; eclectic as f**k. That’s the way we’ve all discovered music over the years isn’t it? We join our own dots to make it all make sense. As I got into making the record, it felt like I was proving something to myself, making a point that I could do all this on my own. You know — I can play bass, I can play guitar, I can orchestrate. As the methods changed, the original concept stayed intact. It’s me, powering through ideas, kapow kapow, no pause for breath. It’s not trying to be wilfully eclectic; it’s just a reflection of how I schizophrenically devour music.”

As a long-time Doves fan is has been really exciting to hear how all the parts of this band contribute and are able to spread their wings on solo releases.   Jimi gave us this very eclectic album in 2014.  The rest of Doves are releasing their music in February 2015 under the name Black Rivers and from the first couple songs it will surely show up on next years top 10. -Spool Going Round

9                Buzzcocks- The Way

It fit right in to my schedule.  I had just finished reading Peter Hook’s book on Joy Division and the new album from Buzzcocks was released.  In Hooky’s book you really understand how much Buzzcocks did for bands and the music scene in Manchester.  They played a great set at Coachella earlier in the year and then were part of Riot Fest.  This albums shows that they have not lost a step.  Buzzcocks are still hard in 2014. -Spool Going Round

8               Warpaint- Warpaint

A mirage of four women with alternating shades of green surrounded by a black border. Red block text above reads "Warpaint".

The ladies of Warpaint keep things interesting on their 2014 release.  They kind of have a Radiohead vibe to their output.  It’s dance-able and cool to groove to.  Great bass lines with perfectly haunting but melodic vocals.  -Spool Going Round

 7                Paolo Nutini- Caustic Love

Caustic Love

This album may contain my favorite song of the year which is “Iron Sky.” Just fantastic.  Paolo’s vocals are always warm and he does some cool sampling throughout the album to keep it hip and modern on top of that classic rhythm and blues.   He has really grown as a musician.  What seemed like a short-lived pop career is turning out to be something to behold.  Maybe along the same career trajectory as a Van Morrison.  Keep it up Paolo! -Spool Going Round

 6               U2- Songs of Innocence

Product Details

I have come to the complete understanding that this band will never top my favorite records that they made; Boy, October, War, Joshua Tree…okay they made a lot of my favorite records.  But that boy has grown and is now a father.  Is this dad-rock? Thank God dads still rock.  Sure to an extent it is softer but what makes this record fun is their idea to go back to the beginning and of course they can’t see it with the same hunger they had but they do reflect with some of the same passion.  It’s amazing that it is still the same four members and that deserves to be celebrated.  The fact that this was given away free to any one with an iTunes account was such a wonderful gesture from this band.  Thank you for the gift. -Spool Going Round

Thank you for reading my blog. Please check back for the top 5 albums of 2014 as chosen by Spool Going Round.

About Spool Going Round

If you like my blog and have access to programming and would like to do a radio/internet show together, please contact me. spoolgoinground@yahoo.com My name is Mike. I am an on-air radio DJ. I fell in love with radio in Chicago and then took that passion to someplace where I could actually get on the air. My travels took me to Seattle, WA, Eugene and Portland, OR and Washington D.C., where I was able to have my own morning show. I've had crab cakes with Warren Zevon, sat backstage and interviewed Sting, had Melissa Etheridge sing to me from the front row and I loved every minute of it. That passion for music still burns strong in me and I love to talk music and be turned on to music. Sharing new music with people is what got me interested in radio in the first place. It is wonderful to be able to talk music with you. "Go ahead you're on the air..." Read more: http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/spool-going-round/about-spool-going-round.html#ixzz1Bfx7V0ug
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spool Going Round Favorite Albums of 2014 (10-6)

  1. Pingback: Spool Going Round Favorite Albums of 2014 (5-1) | Spool Going Round

  2. Pingback: U2 Remember From Whence They Came | Spool Going Round

Leave a comment